Sneaky Get-Fit Tricks (Without Going to the Gym!)

Play with

I love multitasking. If I can do a conference call while simultaneously painting my nails, or walk the dog while checking my BlackBerry–I’m feeling good. I also love the idea of combining exercise with regular daily activities (uh huh–anything to whittle time away from the gym!). I loved these “stealthy” fitness tricks from experts at Harvard University:

In the September issue of the Harvard Health Letter, a publication of Harvard Medical School , I found these good ideas:

Get into the swing of it. Swinging your arms when you walk (OK, it may look a little funny) will help you burn extra calories.

Play with some kids. Have a niece or nephew? Play with them! “Adults shouldn’t miss a chance to jump into the fray if kids are playing on a playground or splashing around in the water,” the Harvard experts say. “Playing along will strengthen muscles and bones and set a good example.”

Play with

Clean house. According to the experts, a little vacuuming can go a long way. Fifteen minutes burns around 80 calories (not so perfect for people with small apartments, but there’s always mopping and bathroom-cleaning, too!).

Stand up while talking on the phone. Avoid the couch while chatting on the phone, the experts say. Standing and walking around the house can help boost your metabolism.

What are some other sneaky ways to burn calories that you have found effective? Chasing my toddler always works for me.

Leave a comment